PHASD announces annual award winners


The Port Huron Area School District is celebrating teacher appreciation month by announcing their 2024 Advocator, Innovator and Educators of the Year. Over 130 staff members received nominations this year from students, staff, and community members. Superintendent Theo Kerhoulas surprised each of this years recipients in their classrooms Tuesday. This year’s Advocator of the year goes to Special Education teacher consultant, Georgia Stathakis. The Innovator of the Year is Choir and Guitar Performing Arts Teacher, Logan Raney. Kindergarten teacher Tami Cronce is the district’s Educator of the year. Videos of the surprise classroom announcements can be found on the Port Huron Schools Facebook page.