Nominations open for Spirit of Port Huron Awards

Port Huron city officials are seeking nominations from residents and organizations for the 2024 Spirit of Port Huron Awards. The initiative started in 1986 as a way to recognize Port Huron citizens for their community service efforts. Spirit Awards are now being given away in eight categories including;

BROTHERHOOD: A person who has displayed leadership in fostering understanding and promoting harmony and good will among all.
CIVIC: A person, business or organization who has significantly contributed time, talent or investment to make Port Huron a better place to live, work and play.
CULTURAL: A person who has encouraged the appreciation and advancement of the arts or heritage of Port Huron and its citizens.
ECONOMIC PROGRESS: A person or business that has invested or encouraged an investment in the community that has stabilized or enhanced the economic climate and quality of life in Port Huron.
GOOD NEIGHBOR: A person who has gone out of his/her way in an unsolicited manner to help a neighbor or neighbors in an extraordinary manner.
HEROISM: A person (or persons) who has risked personal injury or his/her life in a spontaneous act to save others.
LIFE ACHIEVEMENT: Bestows a special recognition on the rare individual who has consistently and unselfishly given an extraordinary amount of time and personal effort over the course of many years toward the betterment of the community and fellow man.
YOUTH SERVICE: A young person who has displayed outstanding citizenship, principally through community service activities.

Submissions are due by July 11th and are being accepted by mail at the Office of the Mayor, 100 McMorran Boulevard, Port Huron, MI 48060.

Residents are asked to include;
1. Your name, address, and phone number.
2. The nominee’s name, address and phone number.
3. The category for which they are being nominated.
4. A description of the activities that support the nomination.
Nominations must be received by July 11, 2024, and should be mailed to:

Winning nominations will be announced at program being held on September 23rd.